2017 KPA Election Results

The KPA Elections are over and the results have been announced!  We warmly welcome our next committee, who will begin their term of one year in July 2017:

Ieuan Smith (Manifesto and Poster)

Vice President
George Blake (Manifesto and Poster)

Association Secretary
John Wootton (Manifesto and Poster)

Activities Officer
Christopher Murphy (Manifesto and Poster)


The KPA Election results breakdown is as follows:

President: Vice-President: Association Secretary: Activities Officer:
– Ieuan Smith wins with 98 votes

– 19 voted to re-open nominations

– George Blake wins with 66 votes

– Leroy Cohoone comes in second with 31 votes

– 10 voted to re-open nominations

In the second round (after eliminating 8 votes to re-open nominations):

– John Wootton wins with 54 votes

– Myron Odingo comes in second with 44 votes

– Christopher Murphy wins with 83 votes

– 21 voted to re-open nominations



Thank you to everybody who participated, including those who voted, the candidates who all ran excellent campaigns, and those who attended Hustings.  Further thanks should be given to the team who ensured the success of this election cycle, including Deputy Returning Officer Alison Tansey and Adam Stanton.

The KPA Committee would just like to remind our members that there are still other ways to get involved in contributing to your postgraduate community.  There are three vacant positions on the committee, so please keep an eye out in the future for a by-election for the following voluntary roles:

Student Trustee
International Officer
Equality and Diversity Officer

If you have an idea about anything you think could improve life as a postgraduate student, or how the KPA could better represent our membership, please contact a member of the committee.


John Wootton Written by:

Comments are closed.